Sorokin Wins Season Opener

April 28, 2002

Race Report - Sacramento Raceway FC Fever

Submitted by: Jim Maher


April 27, 2002 (Sacramento Raceway): The California Independent Funny Car Association (CIFCA) kicked off its 18th season of racing at Sacramento's Funny Car Fever. Over sixteen funny cars from the western United States made the first round call. Jack Beckman won the Perma-Cool Burnout Challenge in Dennis Murphy's Omni. Come curfew time Mike Savage (2000 Rookie of the Year) and Adam Sorokin (2001 Rookie of the Year) were left standing.


Savage quest to the final began with a first round victory over Marsha Whiteman. He then drilled the tree with a .421 light coupled with a 7.556 to send Chill Scardino packing. Car owner Jim Broome had the Old Glory II dialed as Savage ripped off a 7.555 (.418 reaction) in the semi's against Jimmy Scott. Savage won the Enderle Quick Reaction time bucks with that light. Working his way down the other side of the ladder was Sorokin behind the wheel of Dave Smith's Firebird. Sorokin disposed of Robert Lee in the opening frame; then placed a 7.58 on the scoreboards to end rookie Deano Oberg's day. During the semi's Sorokin paired off with Beckman who was making his CIFCA debut. Beckman got to the stripe first but broke out with a 7.47 sending Sorokin and his 7.54 to the final round.


Curfew delayed the final round. Sorokin and Savage paired off during the 2nd round of qualifying at Southwestern Int'l Raceway on May 11. Sorokin emerged victorious with a 7.46- 7.45 on a double-breakout.


CIFCA * 8858 Painter Ave, Ste E * Whittier, CA 90602

Please reload

Featured Posts

2019 CIFCA Banquet - Saturday Nov 30th (Luau Theme)

September 30, 2019

Please reload

Recent Posts

April 12, 2019

Please reload