Sorokin Wins Season Opener

Race Report - Sacramento Raceway FC Fever

Submitted by: Jim Maher

April 27, 2002 (Sacramento Raceway): The California Independent Funny Car Association (CIFCA) kicked off its 18th season of racing at Sacramento's Funny Car Fever. Over sixteen funny cars from the western United States made the first round call. Jack Beckman won the Perma-Cool Burnout Challenge in Dennis Murphy's Omni. Come curfew time Mike Savage (2000 Rookie of the Year) and Adam Sorokin (2001 Rookie of the Year) were left standing.

Savage quest to the final began with a first round victory over Marsha Whiteman. He then drilled the tree with a .421 light coupled with a 7.556 to send Chill Scardino packing. Car owner Jim Broome had the Old Glory II dialed as Savage ripped off a 7.555 (.418 reaction) in the semi's against Jimmy Scott. Savage won the Enderle Quick Reaction time bucks with that light. Working his way down the other side of the ladder was Sorokin behind the wheel of Dave Smith's Firebird. Sorokin disposed of Robert Lee in the opening frame; then placed a 7.58 on the scoreboards to end rookie Deano Oberg's day. During the semi's Sorokin paired off with Beckman who was making his CIFCA debut. Beckman got to the stripe first but broke out with a 7.47 sending Sorokin and his 7.54 to the final round.

Curfew delayed the final round. Sorokin and Savage paired off during the 2nd round of qualifying at Southwestern Int'l Raceway on May 11. Sorokin emerged victorious with a 7.46- 7.45 on a double-breakout.

CIFCA * 8858 Painter Ave, Ste E * Whittier, CA 90602

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
Show More
Show More
  • Wix Facebook page
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
Control Cables Inc
Dan Olson racing Products
Dan Olson racing Products
D&P Conveters
Fuel Injection
Good Vibrations Motorsports
JAZ Products
Mikes Transmission
SCE Gaskets
System One Filter Products
Total Seal Piston Rings
Show More

This site has been created & maintained by CIFCA. All text and material from
CIFCA is copyright from 1984-2021. All logos and images are reserved.