top of page

Funny Car Thunder - Medford Dragstrip

Thanks to Medford Dragstrip for hosting the California Independent Funny Car Association and the Blown Alcohol Thunder. The final in CIFCA was between Chris Bates, in the Happy Hour Corvette tuned by Harvey Williams, against rookie of the year contender Rick Alvarado. Bates qualified 2nd with a 7.560 and Alvarado took the System One number one qualifier bonus with a 7.508 on the 7.50 index. James Maher qualified 3rd with a 7.452 and Mike Troxel qualified 4th. Jim Currie took home the Mike's Transmission Burnout Contest & Alvarado was awarded the Revolving Qualifier Award.

Maher and Troxel were suppose to race each other in a consolation round. However, Troxel was unable to make the call so Maher ran again Jim Seivers from the Blown Alcohol Thunder. Maher, who traveled from Los Angeles took home the Control Cable Longest tow award. Seivers, who runs with the Blown Alcohol Thunder, was off the line first with a .119 light to Maher's abnormal .175 at the stripe it was Maher with a 7.547. Due to some tire shake Seivers chose to abort the run coasting to a 9.894.

Now for the final round! Alvarado in the Mighty Mouse vs Bates in the Happy Hour. This would be second final round for Alvarado this year. Bates just came off a final round loss at Redding Dragstrip was hungry! Alvarado off the starting line first, unfortunately he turned on the red light and handing to win to Bates. However, it would've been a different story if Alvarado had not red lite as he ran another impressive 7.508 to Bates 7.438. Bates took home the Enderle Quick Reaction Time Award with a .005 light. The Good Vibrations Motorsports Best Package & The SCE Bounty Hunter Award. Congrats to Bates & the Happy Hour team on their 3 CIFCA win of the season.

For the Blown Alcohol Thunder Group. Brent Jones qualified #1, Jim Currie qualified #2 and Frank Miller qualified #3. Jones was unable to make the call for the final as he broke something in the rear end. On their Chicago style ladder that put Currie & Miller in the final. Miller end up going red and running to quick on the index which everyone thought handed Currie the win. However, on the top Currie got a little out of shape going through the finish line and took out the ET cone. The "First or Worst" rule came in to play handing the win back to Frank Miller. Congrats to Frank on winning his first Blown Alcohol Thunder event.


The staff did a remarkable job prepping the racing surface. It was a very well organized event and we can’t wait to do it again next year! Follow CIFCA on Instagram and Facebook. For more info visit

God Speed, James Maher

CIFCA President 562/945-4159

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page