top of page

Broome/Savage First Repeat Winner of the Season

Race Report

For Immediate Release

Submitted by: Jim Maher

July 15, 2000 (Top Gun Raceway): Major track improvements including extensive paving were primarily responsible for the tightest CIFCA funny car field at Top Gun Raceway. The all seven field was headed up by Jim Maher's Good Vibrations Camaro with a near perfect 7.507. Mike Halstead held down the bump in the Clement & Robertson's Tempo with a stout 7.74.

Dick Spencer of Garland UT is running a limited CIFCA schedule with Marty Hill at the wheel. This team proved they had the right stuff when they defeated Mike Savage (driving for Jim Broome) in the opening frame. Hill's .415 light coupled with a victorious 7.60 in the semis was enough to send Shane Westrings' hemi powered Willys home and Hill into the finals.

Meeting Hill in the money round was Broome/Savage. This team was reinstated when Mike Hilsabeck couldn't return after severe engine damage. CIFCA has a NO bye run rule, which always brings back the fast loser in case a car can't make the call. Savage took advantage of it and advanced to the final round after Steve Tryon redlit in the semis.

Broome/Savage vs. Spencer/Hill. Up to this point there has yet to be a repeat winner. Savage won one race earlier this season while Spencer was looking for his first. The trend was broken on the starting line as Hill redlit away his chance of glory. Savage drove Broomes's Olds out the back door to a 7.40 victory.

The Perma-Cool Burnout Challenge was won by Robert Lee. Shane Westring & Mike Savage split the Enderle Quick Reaction Time bucks with a pair of great .409 lights. It's always a pleasure for the CIFCA circuit to swing through northern Nevada for Top Gun's annual Funny Car Fever. Special thanks to Berry-Hinckley Inds & Cashmen Equipment for their race support.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page